Townsend, others inducted into teacher hall of fame

Members of the 2016 class of the Gov. Louie B. Nunn Kentucky Teacher Hall of Fame were inducted Tuesday in Frankfort. From left: Gov. Matt Bevin, inductees Marie Jones, Angela Alexander Townsend, Wendell Worley and WKU President Gary Ransdell. (WKU photo by Bryan Lemon)

The Gov. Louie B. Nunn Kentucky Teacher Hall of Fame inducted three educators in Frankfort on Tuesday who were chosen through a statewide selection committee as the eighth class to receive this honor.

The inductees were Angela Alexander Townsend of Bowling Green, Marie Jones of Georgetown and Wendell Worley of London. The trio were honored with a Frankfort reception that included Gov. Matt Bevin and Western Kentucky University President Gary Ransdell. WKU is the hall of fame's home.

Townsend spent her 38-year career teaching senior English, beginning at Bowling Green High School in 1966. She then taught at Lincoln Elementary School in Louisville and Princeton Junior High School in Cincinnati. Upon returning to Bowling Green, Townsend taught at Bowling Green Junior High School, BGHS, Warren Central High School and at Greenwood High School, where Townsend retired from in 2009 to care for her ailing mother.

The hall of fame was created in 2000 through a gift by Nunn, who hoped to recognize the vital role that teachers in Kentucky play in the education of young people and the positive impact education has on the state’s economy, a news release said. The first class was inducted in 2008.